The 10:23 campaign

You may have noticed a lot of bloggers putting 10:23 at the end of their posts about homeopathy. It’s something called the 10:23 campaign, and so far it’s very secretive. Don’t ask me any details, I know nothing more than any of you can find out on the website (although I can tell those of you who don’t know that 10:23 refers to Avogadro’s Number).  If you clicked on that you’ll notice that the website’s changed in the last few days, I only just noticed myself. Now it has an nuclear bomb style counter on it counting down until (I presume) the campaign launches properly.

So what can you do? You can sign up to help the campaign in you do want to be involved, or you can sign the letter to Boots which the Merseyside Skeptics came up with, or if you don’t know that much about homeopathy, you can get some information.

5 Responses to The 10:23 campaign

  1. Alex Pryce says:

    Those based in and around Edinburgh can get in touch with us at edskeptics@gmail.com

    We need 30 volunteers to get involved. The press embargo has been lifted, so we can publicly talk about what will happen at 10:23 AM on Saturday 30th Jan in at least 11 cities around the UK.

    But get in touch and we’ll tell you more 🙂

    Alex Pryce
    Edinburgh Skeptics

    10:23

  2. grammarking says:

    Tell me tell me tell me tell me.

  3. Pete Langford says:

    If there’s one thing i dislike about the 10:23 campaign, it’s that it’s forcing people who know that homeopathy is all smoke and mirrors and fairy dust to side with annoyed people from pharmaceutical areas that believe they are profiteering any less than homeopathists. Granted, their stuff does (or is assumed to) work, but they still charge rediculous amounts on an un-ethical basis. Just because I dislike what homeopathy does, doesn’t mean I approve of the operating standards of big pharm chains. Yet still, I suppose 10:23 is for the greater good (hot fuzz anyone…?)

  4. grammarking says:

    I take your point, but objections to homeopathy are usually along the lines of what is rational and evidence-based medicine, whereas objections to the pharmaceutical industry is about what’s ethical. I certainly object to a lot of the practices of the pharmaceutical industry (and a lot more so the more I read Bad Science), but I don’t think it’s a terribly bad thing to side with them to tackle a question of evidence and reason.

  5. […] Kendall’s Patent Homeopathic Remedies. Crispian Jago guest blogging on Lay Science: here. The Not So Friendly Humanist. Phil Plait on the Bad Astronomy […]

Leave a Reply

