Pepsi = cure for straightness

Just wait, I’ll get to it. Some of you may know that a few months ago I decided to boycott Coca Cola. Here‘s some reasons why you should do the same. Basically they divert water supplies from poor people who need it, operate in Darfur despite the ban, and perhaps most shockingly, torture and kill their workers if they demand rights.

Anyway I read somewhere today that Pepsi stands for “Pay Every Penny to Save Israel”. This despite Pepsi being much older than Israel, hmm…. Anyway I decided to have a look online to see what evils Pepsi have committed to see if I’m being daft boycotting Coca Killer and not Pepsi. All I found was the same conspiracy theory about Pepsi and Israel (which totally isn’t true btw, apparently Pepsi wasn’t even sold in Israel until 1991) and this little gem.

Yup, that’s a website from the American Family Association (and the name seems so nice and loving), declaring a boycott on Pepsi because they promote homosexuality. Brilliant. You couldn’t make this up if you tried. Damn that PepsiCo and it’s equality-promoting ways, damn it to hell! I especially love that on the right hand side, the word ‘bisexual’ and ‘gay’ are put in inverted commas, as if even just using the words dirties your soul somehow. The little captions on the right by the videos also seem to imply that Pepsi actually causes gayness, too.

So I’m gonna keep not buying evil Coca Cola, and carry on having no problem buying equality-promoting Pepsi.

5 Responses to Pepsi = cure for straightness

  1. Clare says:

    Wow. I boycott coke but I had no idea that Pepsi were so cool. There’s also Irn Bru and other soft drinks from Barr if you want to keep it local. You get to return the bottles too and reduce waste. 🙂

  2. grammarking says:

    I’ve been drinking so much Irn Bru I think I’ll be going even more ginger!

    But it’s so difficult to keep the boycott. As soon as I can be bothered I’ll take a picture of the drinks fridges in Potterrow and label what’s owned by CocaCola and what isn’t. A good 85% is. And it’s even worse in the bars, the only non-alcoholic thing I can drink is Irn Bru. I can’t help thinking that if I were back in England I’d be forced to stay on the cider. Shucks.

  3. Stuart Ritchie says:

    Hey, don’t forget J20! Or, er, tap water…

  4. Deena says:

    Just an interesting tidbit…

    I lived in Saudi Arabia for 3 years when I was a kid. You could get Pepsi there but not Coca Cola. I think it was something to do with Coca Cola being started up or mostly owned by a Jewish person or something like that.

    The Saudis had all sorts of bans and boycotts. My parents had most of their household shipped to Saudi Arabia and many items were confiscated – from Christmas decorations (for obvious reasons) to their Sears Kenmore brand washer and dryer (again, because of some remote Jewish connection – I think Sears was originally started by a Jewish guy). My brother had an Archie comic book (which had Betty & Veronica on the cover wearing bikinis) – someone took a marker to it and covered up Betty & Veronica.

    -D

Leave a Reply

