An “oath” of allegiance

The former attorney-general, Lord Goldsmith, has suggested that people (particularly school children) should be encouraged to take an oath of allegiance. Read the story here in The Times or on BBC online.

Now of course the discussion online has largely been to the line of “I’m not swearing allegiance to that bloody Queen”, and I agree 100%, how in a modern liberal democracy can we justify someone being born into such institutional wealth, power and influence?

But my objection goes further than that. If I’m going to swear something, it’ll be something that I believe in, and I’ll say it in my own way. Having millions of drones saying the same thing will reduce any “oath” to mere words without meaning. What happened to independent thinking? It’s dogma in its highest form.

There’s something a little more sinister as well. The BBC article mentions towards the end that:

“Young people who volunteer could receive a reduction in tuition fees, while others who work in the community could be given a small council tax rebate.”

I personally find this disgusting, and self-defeating. Not only do I think it’s wrong to effectively punish people just because they have an ounce of integrity and won’t recite something they don’t believe in, but I think this paves the way to differentiate between “truly” British people and the rest, which is a very bad idea, and will only lead to further division of society, possibly fuelling extremism and pseudo-apartheid states. Furthermore, bribing the public into taking an oath will make it meaningless. I’d swear an oath to Satan if it meant my student debt was reduced, because it doesn’t mean anything to me whatsoever!

I read up a little on the topic, and was very surprised to see that Canada, that bastion of common sense, already has one! It reads:

“I, ……………, do Solemnly swear (affirm) that I will be faithful and bear true allegiance to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth the Second, Queen of Canada, Her Heirs and Successors according to law, forever. So help me God.”

I’m glad that the part at the end about God is optional, but at the same time, this oath must be made by some certain judges, the armed forces, mounted police, the Queen’s Privy council, and most importantly, by MP’s. Indeed MP’s who refuse to take it are not allowed to sit in the house! Disgusting!

2 Responses to An “oath” of allegiance

  1. tychy says:

    hello nosofriendlyhumanist. as i understand it swearing allegiance to the queen (i’d encourage swearing at the queen) would be voluntary. but what child would agree volunteer for such a thing?
    TEACHER: Right, hands up! who wants to swear allegiance to the queen.
    (No hands go up).
    TEACHER

  2. tychy says:

    sorry, i was writing a brilliant comment, leading up to an amazing punchline, but pressed “submit” by accident – largely because there is a rather too sensitive touch-screen mouse on this laptop. i’ve fucked up the joke, but anyway, i wanted to say thank you for referencing my site from here. i hope my site accords with your humanist principles. i would describe myself as a humanist, but a friendly one and one rather underwhelmed by mundane ungodly reality. i’ve always been a great fan of edinburgh’s david hume – the first public-relations conscious atheist – and i think his beautiful tower is a fine monument to his memory. thanks again and sorry about the fuck up. tychy.

Leave a Reply

