An Introduction

So here I’m going to introduce myself, the blog, and the motives behind it.

My name’s Mike, I’m an 18 year old first year student at the University of Edinburgh in Scotland, but my hometown is The Wirral, which is just over the water from the famous Liverpool in North-West England. I’m also a part time barman, having worked in several pubs and bars, including most interestingly a biker bar on The Wirral and a folk music pub in Edinburgh. I love classic rock, particularly Led Zeppelin, but also Pink Floyd, THe Who, and some more modern metal as well. Perhaps most relevant to this blog is the fact that I’m a humanist.

I was inspired to start the blog by two friends at the University who have started similar blogs, namely The Friendly Humanist (the title of which I’ve obviously plagiarised slightly) and This Humanist. Right now, Humanism is very new to me (more on that in my next post), and I’d like some kind of medium through which to express my thoughts on the subject and its related topics.

But I think this blogs going to be a little bit different. I have a very different style to both The Friendly Humanist and This Humanist, and if I’m honest with myself, I can’t pretend to be even nearly as friendly as Tim, hence the title. So hopefully my dark side will shine through on this blog. I’m also not going to limit myself to issues related directly to Humanism. I’m not sure exactly what I mean by that, but I’ll be taking current issues and events, putting my own slant on them, which hopefully should relate to humanism. As I’m new to humanism and atheism in general, a lot of it is likely to be taking a dig at religion, but hopefully that won’t be all the time, and I’ll try my hardest not to be offensive.

It’s also going to be my first proper blog, because all my others have been short ones limited to trips I’ve taken in the past, whereas there’s no definite date that this one will end, and I hope to update it fairly regularly (although not daily) for some considerable time to come. So bear with me, I’m new to this.

Comments and questions are welcome, I’ll answer any that come my way, as long as they’re not too personal.

Leave a Reply

